Rush, by Eve Silver

rJennifer D. shares this review:

One day after school Miki Jones rescued Janice Harper’s little sister from getting hit by a truck. That’s how Miki died. But it’s not the end of the story, it’s the beginning. Miki wakes up somewhere else. She is alive, healed, and fitted with a bracelet on her wrist. Those who are with her explain that the bracelet indicates her health level. Right now it’s green. She shouldn’t let it turn red. Miki has been called upon to help defend the planet against aliens called the Drau. If all this sounds like a video game, that’s what Miki thinks, too, until her first encounter with the Drau.

“Something comes at me, light and speed, and then it’s solid, taking the shape of a man directly in front of me. I can’t help it. I look at it, right in its eyes, mercury smooth and silvery and bright. Terrifying and beautiful. Pain explodes, eating my organs, my limbs, my brain. I feel like my insides are being ripped away, pulled out through my eyes. My legs turn to rubber. I fall to my knees. The Drau’s lips peel back, revealing rows of jagged teeth. Not human at all.”

When Miki is sent on a mission (or “pulled” as she learns it is called) she starts off in the “lobby”, a staging area where the team is assembled and weapons are distributed. Then they are sent to eliminate the mission’s target. Miki soon learns that while the set-up may seem game-like, the danger is very real.

Miki is getting a second chance, of sorts. She gets to return to her home, live as though she had never died, but with the unending expectation that her next pull might be her last.

Check the WRL catalog for Rush.

Posted on March 17, 2014, in Adventure, Books, Fantasy, Fiction, Paranormal, Readers' advisory, Science fiction, Young Adult. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 158 other followers

